Yeah, I'm pretty bad at keeping this blog up, aren't I? *shrugs*
Winter here is driving me crazy. It's not winter. I mean, sure, it's cold. But it is SO NOT WINTER. It's more like the cold part of fall as it's turning into winter. And apparently it snows in Osaka every 5 years or something, so I'm definitely not seeing any until I get home. :/ This reaffirms my decision that I don't think I'd enjoy living anywhere south of Chicago. I *need* my snow and proper winter weather.
Finals are next week, so classes are wrapping up now. I have a paper I MUST finish tonight for my cinema class, and I'm about halfway done with it. Erp. I was working on it yesterday and listening to the Charlie Brown Christmas soundtrack. Very very happy. :D
Japan doesn't know how to decorate, either. Granted, the percentage of Christians in Japan is in the single digits. They don't consider XMas as a family holiday or even a holiday that you really buy presents for. It's a couples' holiday. Yeah, weird.
So there's a santa up in a rotunda area, and he's supposed to look like he's next to a ladder, but he completely looks like he's crucified. AAAGHH, come on Japan. And there are about... three houses I've seen that have lights, and all THREE are utterly decked out in colorful lights.
So I am definitely not feeling the holiday-ness I want. I'm not a super holiday person, but I like at least a LITTLE bit. So I'm missing my Christmas tree and snow and holiday cheer.
I haven't done a lot of travelling lately, as I'm running low on money. But what was rather fun this weekend was on Friday night, after getting kicked out (not actually, we just can't be in there past 10pm which is SUPER LAME) of the Seminar House and not particularly tired or wanting to face the outside, we biked to McDonalds with our computer.
It was Sarah, Corbin, and I, and we each ordered a small thing, went to the second floor, and watched Donnie Darko on the laptop... in a McDonalds. And then the computer DIED AND RAN OUT OF BATTERY 15 minutes before the end. It was uber depressing. So we talked because we still weren't particularly tired, and ended up talking... for THREE more hours. XD It was so ridiculous, but it was a very good night.
The next night (sat) we made our own eggnog... and it was delicious. It was a bit too foamy (I wouldn't know, as I've never had any before) but I liked it a lot. I definitely suggest it and will do it again. The only hard part was whisking the egg whites until they "created stiff peaks" without a blender. We did it by hand with whisks, trading off. It didn't actually take too long. We were pretty proud of ourselves. A little disturbing realizing that I was drinking raw egg, but... *shrugs*
And I have 12 days left. Whoah. But I'm really anxious to be home now. I loved being here, but there are a lot of things that I miss. Food in particular. I want Chipotle REAL bad. And that I can hang out at someone's room/house for as long (reasonably) as I want, and NOT until only 10pm. I mean, really.
I'll try for one more entry before I leave!!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment