Wednesday, October 8, 2008

Cool things...

...in Japan so far.

Book-Off. Book-Off is the best place to get music/manga/DVDs PERIOD. I've already bought the entire series of BLAME! for about $20 (8 volumes). I got two CDs the other day for 250 yen EACH. That's less than $2.50. For FULL LENGTH cds. I also got the Moulin Rouge DVD, which unfortunately is region 2, of course, but my compy can play it. I started watching it with Japanese subtitles and the English audio track, but I couldn't read the subtitles fast enough, and the English was overpowering my reading of the Japanese, so I disabled it.

Pan. I cannot stress how yummy the bread/pastries are here. ESPECIALLY melon pan. God, it's so good. And the toast I have for breakfast. SO GOOD.

Bikes. I can't believe I've been without a bike for so long. It's so convenient! Granted, if you don't have a car, walking or biking are your only options. Plus, biking is FREE. I don't have to pay to ride my bike, unlike the trains, which are cool too, but the fees can stack up if you travel a lot. Which is also why, when people (not in Japan) ask me if I'm going to Tokyo, I'm hesitant. It's because the TRAIN fare is so expensive. Especially if you leave on the weekend. Something like $100. One way. SO. Maybe I'll go, but it's not anytime soon.

Okay, no more cool things, just random things:

My otousan always drinks with dinner. Not something I'm used to. He's got a bottle of.... something, ALWAYS, near his seat, and he pours himself, usually, two glasses. He also is missing the fingers on his left hand, and I'm very curious about it, but I don't want to ask (much less in Japanese!!) I think it's been like that a long time, because he can work around it pretty well. (It really just looks like a hand with no fingers. Just the palm.)

Another thing with drinking-- not alcoholic, either. Japanese don't seem to drink much... at all. I always down about 5 glasses (they have TINY glasses- smaller than the ones in commons. D:) of water at dinner, and sometimes more if okaasan gives me green tea. And yet, they're cool with ONE GLASS. Or none. More often, NONE. I don't get it.

Fushimi Inari

I went to Fushimi Inari this weekend with Cassidy and her friend (Kelly, I think). It was about 4 hours of walking up and down a freaking mountain. BUT it was very enjoyable nonetheless. I have a jillion photos on facebook (okay more like 120), because there were tiny shrines EVERYWHERE. Fushimi Inari was HUGE. Very orange and green. (torii and bamboo, respectively, of course.)

So, Inari is the fox god of Japan, and of course, it is Shinto. If you see those orange gates (torii)? It's Shinto. The orange is meant to scare away demons, if I remember right. And going through the gates is meant to purify. Shinto has a lot to do with purification. I'm learning a lot about it right now in class. Shinto isn't a typical religion, like say, Christianity. There is no moral code or written "law" or dogma. It's very polytheistic, too. And probably one of the few (maybe only?) religions that still in the modern world will worship animals. (Like Inari).

The reason Fushimi Inari is so huge is because what people pray to Inari for has changed over the centuries. Inari used to be, like so many other gods, prayed to for fertility-- now Inari is seen as the god to pray to for good fortune in business. So all those orange torii? They were all paid by businesses, and have inscriptions on the back of them of the company name, and I believe, the president and such. They're also REALLY expensive, as in 1000s of dollars. You can get little torii for around $50 if you want and have it painted and placed somewhere too, though.

It kind of takes away a little of the mystery to the gates, but it's still amazing to see the MASSIVE number of gates there.

It's also the place where in the Memoirs of a Geisha movie that Sayuri ran through all those torii. There's a spot near the entrance where there are two paths of torii, and they are all the same height. It was definitely there that they filmed it. (Plus, it's close to the entrance, and you don't have to hike up the whole mountain to get to it).

The day before, Cassidy and I had explored by her house at what we call the "creepy shrine", since it's really overgrown. It wasn't actually that creepy, but there wasn't anyone there, so that was a little eerie.

I've also decided that I need to go and travel somewhere every weekend otherwise I will definitely feel unfufilled. We might go to Asuka this weekend. We shall see...